This quiz is useful for the aspirants of Library Science. Students appearing for UGC NET, SLET, KVS Librarian and NVS Librarian and DSSSB Librarian etc. can practice these exams.

For other quizzes on Library Science, kindly visit the page here.

Source : IGNOU B.Lib Material

For quizzes on General English, please visit the page here.

For General Knowledge quizzes, kindly click here



#1. How many laws of classification were suggested by Ranganathan?

Basic Laws: Ranganathan formulated six basic laws, viz.,
1) Law of Interpretation
2) Law of Impartiality
3) Law of Symmetry
4) Law of Parsimony
5) Law of Local Variation
6) Law of Osmosis ‘

#2. When were the five laws of Library Science formulated by Ranganathan?

#3. When was the book Five Laws of Library Science published?

#4. What is the short form for five fundamental categories?

“There are five and only five fundamental categories, namely Time, Space, Energy, Matter and Personality”, PMEST; for short.

#5. How many principles of Facet sequence were formulated by Ranganathan/

Principles of Facet Sequence: Ranganathan formulated four principles of Facet Sequence, viz,
1) Wall-Picture Principle
2) Whole-Organ Principle
3) Cow-Calf Principle
4) Actand Action-Actor-Tool Principle

#6. How many principles of helpful sequence were formulated by Ranganathan?

Principles of Helpful Sequence: To achieve a helpful sequence of entities in an array,
Ranganathan formulated eight Principles of Helpful Sequence. These are
1) Principle of Later-in-Time
2) Principle of Later-in-Evolution
3) Principle of Spatial Contiguity

3.1 Principles for Entities along a Vertical Line:

3.1.1 Principle of Bottom Upwards
3.1.2 Principle of Top Downwards

3.2 Principles for Entities along a Horizontal Line:
3.2.1 Principle of Left to Right
3.2.2 Principle of Right to Left

3.3 Principles of Entities along a Circular Line:
3.3.1 Principle of Clockwise Direction
3.3.2 Principle of Counter-Clockwise Direction

3.4 Principles for Entities along long a Radial Line:
3.4.1 Principle of Centre to Periphery
3.4.2 Principle of Periphery to Centre

3.5 Principle of Away-from-Position

4) Principles for Quantitative Measure
4.1 Principle of Increasing Quantity
4.2 Principle of Decreasing Quantity

5) Principle of Increasing Complexity

6) Principle of Canonical Sequence

7) Principle of Literary Warrant

8) Principle of Alphabetical Sequence

#7. How many canons were formulated by S R Ranganathan?

Canons of Classification: Ranganathan provided a completely new direction to’ the concept of classification originally formulated by Sayers. Ranganathan formulated 43 canons and grouped them into three planes of work.
i) Canons for Idea Plane (15).
ii) Canons for Verbal Plane (4).
iii) Canons for Notational Plane (24).

#8. The canons of characteristics deal with..

#9. The canons of verbal plane deal with..

#10. The canons of Notational plane deal with..

#11. The canons of Mnemonics deal with..

Mnemonics = Aids to memory. Mnemonical notation means the use of symbol or symbols representing a given concept

Mnemonics= కొండ గుర్తులు, సులభంగా గుర్తు పెట్టుకునే చిట్కాలు

#12. The four canons of growing universe deal with....

#13. The three canons of book classification deal with....

#14. Which lay down the rhythm of classification?

#15. Which lay down the process of work in the idea plane?

#16. Which deal with the details of the arrangement of the isolates in the schedules?


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Available for Amazon Prime